legislative-action

LEADERSHIP ALERT!!!

Call the members of the Senate Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Committee before 1:30 P.M. today (April 14, 2014)!!

Three bills slated to be heard by the Senate Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Committee would cripple local governments’ ability to pass taxes and issue bonds.

Each of these bills would require more than 20 percent of voters to turn out in order for a tax election to be valid.

In effect, that would mean everyone who does not go to the polls votes “NO.” It means that important elections would be decided by the lazy, the disinterested and the uninformed. Think about how low the turnout is in many of your elections for new bond issues, millages and even for renewals of existing issues.

These are the bills up for a vote today. All of them are by Sen. Bret Allain (R-Franklin). The committee will convene at 1:30 P.M.

SB 200: Constitutional Amendment to require a minimum turnout of 20% of voters to approve a political subdivision or special district proposition to incur or assume debt, issue bonds, or levy a tax.

SB 201: Requires a minimum turnout of 20% of voters to approve a political subdivision proposition to incur or assume debt, issue bonds, or levy a tax.

SB 517: Prohibits the state bond commission from approving any tax exempt indebtedness if the proposition to incur such indebtedness was approved in an election in which turnout was less than 20% of registered voters.

Please call as many members of the committee as you can, and tell them to vote NO on SB 20, SB 201 and SB 517

Revenue & Fiscal Affairs Committee

 

Committee Members
Senator Neil Riser (Chairman)
P.O. Box 117
Columbia, LA 71418
(318) 649-0977
risern@legis.la.gov
Senator Dale M. Erdey (Vice-Chairman)
P.O. Box 908
Livingston, LA 70754
(225) 686-2881
erdeyd@legis.la.gov
Senator Robert Adley
611 Jessie Jones Drive
Benton, LA 71006
(318) 965-1755
adleyr@legis.la.gov
Senator Sharon Weston Broome
P. O. Box 52783
Baton Rouge, LA 70892
(225) 359-9352
lasen15@legis.la.gov
Senator Yvonne Dorsey-Colomb
1520 Thomas H. Delpit Drive Suite 226
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
(225) 342-9700
dorseyy@legis.la.gov
Senator Rick Gallot
P.O. Box 1117
Ruston, LA 71270
(318) 251-5019
gallotr@legis.la.gov
Senator David Heitmeier
3501 Holiday Drive
Suite 225
New Orleans, LA 70114
(504) 361-6356
HeitmeierD@legis.la.gov
Senator Robert W. “Bob” Kostelka
P.O. Box 2122
Monroe, LA 71207
(318) 362-3474
kostelka@legis.la.gov
Senator Jean-Paul J. Morrell
6305 Elysian Fields Ave.
Suite 404
New Orleans, LA 70122
(504) 284-4794
morrelljp@legis.la.gov
Senator Gary Smith
P.O Box 189
Norco, LA 70079
(985) 764-9122
smithgl@legis.la.gov
Senator John R. Smith
611-B South 5th Street
Leesville, LA 71446
(337) 238-2709
smithj@legis.la.gov